Memories

Standard

LifesMemories

 

 

 

One of my friends’ whatsapp status had a beautiful line:”Some things become beautiful when they turn into memories”. But then are all memories to be cherished? Why are some memories so painful that they stab you right in the heart.? Why do some memories make you feel that if your best was not enough? There are times when you feel that for some people you are only a chapter in their life, while for you they were the book.

 

Memories are like a scrapbook or an album that makes you smile fondly or can bring you to tears. They can either strengthen you or can break you down. Painful memories can erode you from inside leaving you with no strength at all.At the same time happy memories can rejuvenate you while you are down in the dust. Ironically the most beautiful moments can sometimes become the most painful memories of your life. It can be the smallest of incident that made your heart leap with joy, but remembering it later smashes you into pieces. So how does one deal with such memories?

 

The best way to deal with memories is to let bygones be bygones i.e. to remember fondly the past and let them be for what they were and not ponder over it. Since if you carry your past on your back, your present will be a heavy burden to shoulder. So to deal best with times ahead, leave your past memories and carve new ones.

 

The past few months have been full of upheavals, emotionally and financially. I find myself sometimes in the pit of darkness but then there are moments for me to remember that shine through the darkness and lead me to light.Memories that can light up the darkest of hours:the times I felt loved and cherished,my childhood with my sister and parents, my school friends, my college days and friends, my daughter’s first smile, her first time calling me Mummy, her first steps towards me,….the list can go on.

 

This I have learnt: if you cry for the past then you will never cease crying. So let it go. Embrace your present with open arms and not fear of pain or hurt because no matter how much you try pain is inevitable. The most painful for me yet is living without  my dear ones and with their presence in my mind. But I remind myself everyday that the pain of those memories is temporary as I have more beautiful memories to follow in coming future.

 

Capture quotes-about-memories

Leave a Reply

