BOOK LOVERS DAY: 9th AUGUST

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

” When the day of judgement dawns and people, great and small, come marching in to receive their heavenly rewards, the Almighty will gaze upon the mere bookworms and say to Peter, ”Look, these need no reward. We have nothing to give them. They have loved reading”………….Virginia Wolf

Well then that places us librarians in a safe lot as we love to read and I can vouch for myself that I want to die while reading. There is no substitute for books. They provide me solace and also wings that take me to unknown faraway lands among goblins, trolls, fairies, nymphs, knights and….I can go on for hours. I have met so many people and made many friends who help me when faced with a crisis. I just need to reach to my bookshelf and pick out a book. Whenever I am faced with a situation that seems too much to handle I always find my answers among books. They speak to me and help me sort out things. So the BOOK LOVERS DAY is special for me. Not just because of my profession but also because they are my lifeline. Books have a power which is revealed to those who treasure them. They can make you experience million lives within a span of say few years. You will never realize that these people will become a part of you and also develop a bond with you.

So on this day as a token of love and to engage fellow readers I had a small display in school library along with Maitreyee Ma’am, the head librarian. Both of us put up books which we liked. Also we took the chance to have kids reach out and read Harry Potter series latest edition. So we had people from Kool Skool (Amit Sarin) bring “The Cursed Child” for sale. Though done on a small basis I had the satisfaction of having done my bit in getting a reader to his/ her book.

20160809_131929

Maitreyee Ma’am and me with Harry Potter Books

Leave a Reply

